The Agenda

Monday, August 22

Welcoming Remarks   |  8:30 am - 8:45 am

  • Daniel White, Chancellor, University of Alaska Fairbanks

  • Pat Pitney, President, University of Alaska

The Imperative   |  8:45 am - 9:30 am

Alaska’s senators frame mineral development in Alaska as a strategic national imperative.

  • Moderator: Mike Sfraga, Chair, U.S. Arctic Commission

  • Senator Lisa Murkowski, U.S. Senate

  • Senator Dan Sullivan, U.S. Senate

Geopolitical and National Analysis   |   9:30 am - 10:15 am
Senior federal officials provide high-level overviews of critical/strategic mineral needs, current supply chain, U.S. and global practices, and environmental, social and governance investment.

  • Moderator: Mike Sfraga, Chair, U.S. Arctic Commission

  • David Applegate, Director, U.S. Geological Survey

  • Robert Daly, Director of the Kissinger Institute on China and the United States, Wilson Center

Break   |   10:15 am - 10:30 am

Subject Matter Presentations    |    10:30 am - 11:45 pm

  • Thomas Tarka, Senior Engineer, National Energy Technology Laboratory

  • Halimah Najieb-Locke, Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Industrial Base Resilience, Department of Defense

  • Daniel McGroarty, Principal, American Resources Policy Network 

  • Steve Douglas,  Vice President of Energy & Power, Alliance for Automotive Innovation

Accessing Alaska's Resources: Bridging Federal and State    |    11:45 am - 12:00 pm

  • Frank Murkowski, former U.S. senator and former
    governor of Alaska

Networking Lunch   |   12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Enjoy an Alaskan themed lunch and meet fellow attendees.


Alaska’s Government  |  1:00 pm - 1:45 pm
State leaders discuss resource supply and access, permitting and the community impact of critical mineral development.

  • Moderator: Akis Gialopsos, Commissioner, Department of Natural Resources

  • Miles Baker, Legislative Director, Office of Governor Mike Dunleavy

  • Jason Brune, Commissioner, Department of Environmental Conservation

  • Senator Peter Micciche, Alaska State Legislature

  • Lucinda Mahoney, Commissioner, Department of Revenue

Permitting in Alaska  |  1:45 pm - 2:45 pm

  • Moderator: Senator Peter Micciche, Alaska State Legislature

  • Senator Click Bishop, Alaska State Legislature

  • Karen Matthias, Executive Director, Council of Alaska's Producers

  • Pattty McGrath, Senior Mining Advisor, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

  • Kyle Moselle, Executive Director for the Office of Project Management and Permitting, Department of Natural Resources

Break   |   2:45 pm - 3:00 pm

Alaska's Resources   |   3:00 pm - 3:45 pm

  • Moderator: Nettie La Belle-Hamer, Vice Chancellor for Research, University of Alaska Fairbanks

  • David LePain, Director, Division of Geological & Geophysical Surveys

  • Jamey Jones, Associate Director of Geology for the Alaska Science Center, U.S. Geological Survey

  • Bob Loeffler, Research Professor of Public Policy, University of Alaska Institute of Social and Economic Research

Alaska's Potential Role in Domestic Supply  |  3:45 pm - 4:45 pm

  • Moderator: Lance Miller, Vice President of Natural Resources, NANA Regional Corporation

  • Liz Cornejo, Vice President, Dowa Metals & Mining Alaska

  • Curt Freeman, President, Avalon Development Corporation

  • Rick van Nieuwenhuyse, President & CEO, Contango ORE

Framing Day 2 - Research and Development  |  4:45 pm - 5:00 pm

  • Nettie La Belle-Hamer, Vice Chancellor for Research, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Tuesday, August 23

Alaska's Mineral Opportunities  |  8:30 am - 9:00 am

  • Governor Mike Dunleavy, State of Alaska

  • Nettie La Belle-Hamer, Vice Chancellor for Research, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Current Research in Alaska  |  9:00 am - 10:30 am
University and agency representatives discuss current research exploring innovative solutions to support responsible and sustained mineral industry growth.


  • Moderator: Bill Schnabel, Dean of College of Engineering and Mines, University of Alaska Fairbanks

  • Srijan Aggarwal, Associate Professor of Environmental Engineering, University of Alaska Fairbanks

  • Bridget Eckhardt, Red Dog Mine

  • Tathagata Ghosh, Chair, Mining and Mineral Engineering, University of Alaska Fairbanks

  • Michael Martinez, Co-Founder, Arctic Biotech Oath

  • Brent Sheets, Director of the Department of Petroleum Development, University of Alaska Fairbanks

  • Melanie Werdon, Chief of Mineral Resources, Division of Geological and Geophysical Surveys

  • Michael West, Director of the Alaska Earthquake Center, University of Alaska Fairbanks

Break   |   10:30 am - 10:45 am

Research Discussions   |   10:45 am - 12:00 pm

Networking Lunch    |   12:00 pm - 1:00 pm

Enjoy an Alaskan themed lunch and meet fellow attendees.

Development Potential for Alaska   |   1:00 pm - 2:30 pm
Industry, government, Alaska Native corporation and university leaders discuss opportunities and barriers for advancing development, including workforce needs, avenues for processing, end-product delivery and shared goals for collaboration. 

  • Moderator: Gwen Holdmann, Associate Vice Chancellor for Research, University of Alaska Fairbanks

  • Kathleen Hook, Environmental Program Manager, Doyon Utilities

  • Joy Huntington, Community Relations Manager, Graphite One, Inc

  • Jeremy Kasper, Interim Director, Alaska Center for Energy and Power, University of Alaska Fairbanks

  • Kamran Khozan, Chairman & Founder, CVMR

  • Dan Robinson, Research Chief, Department of Labor and Workforce Development

  • Deantha Skibinski, Executive Director, Alaska Miners Association

Break   |   2:30 pm - 3:00 pm

The Entire Value Chain Discussions     |    3:00 pm - 4:15 pm


Break   |   4:15 pm - 4:45 pm

Summit Synthesis and Closing   |   4:45 pm - 5:30. pm

  • Mike Sfraga, Chair, U.S. Arctic Commission

Summit Reception

Monday, August 22  |  5:00 pm - 8:00 pm

University of Alaska Museum of the North

Guests will ride the motor coach to the Museum of the North. For guests driving their own vehicle, parking is complimentary.

Hors d'oeuvres and beverages will be served. Summit guest will receive complimentary admission to the museum, including all exhibits.

Alaska's Minerals
A Strategic National Imperative


Generate discussion on how to frame mining in Alaska as a national imperative

Meeting national security, economic and clean energy goals




Identify opportunities and barriers to positioning Alaska's strategic minerals as resources to meet the nation’s clean energy economy goals and national security needs, from raw materials to processing and end products

Develop a framework to increase awareness of Alaska's resource potential and secure the state’s role in the national value chain, as 21st century needs rely on strategic minerals and rare earth elements

The Venue
University of Alaska Fairbanks